Our Experts Are Here to Help 1.877.299.4564
 

Thursday, June 3, 2010

New York Sate Seat Belt Laws


As New York State Police kick off their annual Memorial Day Buckle Up New York Campaign, it is probably a good time to review New York’s safety restraint laws. It would be pretty aggravating to be issued a citation at a check point without realizing you were doing anything wrong.

First and foremost, New York mandatory safety restraint law is classified as primary enforcement. This classification allows law enforcement officer to pull you over and issue a citation for failure to wear a seat belt. A ticket may also be issued to a driver who fails to adhere to New York’s child safety restraint guidelines.

New York State’s Safety Restraint Laws

  • The driver and any passenger in the front-seat must wear a seat belt.

  • Drivers and front-seated passengers over 16 can be fined up to $50 each for failure to wear a seat belt.

  • Every occupant in a car driven by someone with a learner’s permit or junior license must wear a seat belt regardless of age or seating position.

  • Each passenger under 16 must be properly restrained according to their age.

  • It’s the driver’s responsibility to make sure all passengers under 16 obey the law. The driver can be fined $25-100 and receive three points on his or her license for each violation.

  • Seat belt use in not required in taxis, livery vehicles, emergency vehicles, vehicles made prior to 1965 or by passengers on city buses.



New York State’s Child Safety Restraint Laws

  • Children under four must be properly secured in a federally approved child safety seat. Note- A child under four that weight over 40 pounds may be restrained in a booster seat with a lap and shoulder belt.

  • Children between the ages of four and eight must use a booster seat with a lap and shoulder belt or a child safety seat. Note – a child under the age of eight who is taller than 4’9’ or weighs more than 100 pounds is allowed to use a seat belt that has both a lap and a shoulder belt and does not need a booster seat or a child safety seat.

  • For children who are 8, but are shorter than 4’9’ or weigh less than 100 pounds it is recommended that you continue to use a child safety restraint system.


New York State’s Seat Belts on School Buses Law

  • According to New York State requirements all school buses manufactured after July 1, 1987 must be equipped with seat belts.

  • Schools are required to make the seatbelts accessible every student.

  • Children under 4 must be placed in properly installed federally-certified child safety seats.



New York State Seat Belt Law Medical Exemption

  • If you have a physical condition that will not allow the proper use of a seat belt you could be except from the law with a doctor’s note.

  • The note must be on a physician’s letterhead and you must carry when you’re behind the wheel and in the passenger seat.

Labels: , , ,

Posted by NSC - Traffic Safety at 0 Comments Links to this post

0 Comments:

Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

Links to this post:

Create a Link

<< Home

 

Visit Us

Follow nydriversafety on Twitter
 

Search

Loading
 
 
 

RSS Feeds

  • Add to Google

    Add to My Yahoo!

    Subscribe with Bloglines

  •  

    Bookmark and Share

    Subscribe to
    Posts [Atom]

     
     
     
    A LowestPriceTrafficSchool.com Company
    P.O. Box 1175, Commack, New York 11725
    NewYorkDefensiveDrivingNow.com is sponsored by American Safety, Inc.